On wireless earphones

I was initially pretty annoyed by the disappearance of the 3.5mm earphone jack on the iPhone 7 (Plus), but was quite keen to upgrade due to the improved camera and overall speed so I decided to bite the bullet and do so anyway.

This effectively forced me to purchase a set of wireless earphones if I didn’t want to use the bundled lightning earphones. Thankfully, I was able to find a pretty cheap set of wireless earphones (US$18 including shipping) and decided to give wireless a go.


As it turns out, this is one of the times where I feel that Apple has made the right decision to steamroll user opinion and move ahead of the curve. I think wireless earphones are brilliant. It seems like a small thing (and I thought it would be), but the additional benefit of not having a long wire running from your phone to your head is really rather liberating, whether jogging with phone in hand or watching videos on a bus.

Disclaimer – I’m no audiophile, so I’m probably not noticing the compromised audio quality that wireless is supposed to introduce, but I’m guessing that the majority of consumers will hardly notice it, either!

I’m still less forgiving of their current fragmented adoption of USB-C and lightning, though – I’ve yet to be convinced that the current overall state of Apple product connectivity is the way to go!

Posted on November 11, 2016, in Geek. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

