Going Pokemon

So Pokemon Go recently launched in Singapore (more specifically, the Southeast Asia region) and I’ve started getting into it.

  

Which doesn’t really surprise me too much, given that I quite enjoyed Niantic’s previous game, Ingress. It, too, required walking around and interacting with pre-identified landmarks in the real-world – though the main gaming mechanic involved quite a bit of PvP action (in the form of attacking portals controlled by the opposing team). Pokemon Go allows for less competitive play in that you can just do more PvE gaming by going around collecting Pokemon, which suits me just fine!

Aside from the thrill of collecting virtual monsters, there’s also added incentive to walk around outside…

I find it really interesting to observe the groups of people playing Pokemon Go – whether individuals, couples, family or friend groups. And while some people express disbelief and disdain at all these phone-wielding Pokemon trainers walking around, I think they forget that many of these urban couch potatoes (myself included) would probably be holed up at home pursuing less active forms of leisure, without the game.

On a personal note, I’ve almost doubled my daily walking distance since the game launched (though I expect it to eventually go down again) – the increased activity can’t be a bad thing, can it? ;)

Posted on August 9, 2016, in Geek and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

