Boxer’s Trip

I don’t know what came over me earlier.

It was so odd, seeing all the animals running after me – I didn’t think so many of them would send me off like that. Comrade Napoleon must have made special allowances for that. It must have been this confusion that got to me – I’d misheard what Clover was saying to me and reacted in a shameful man-like way, trying to smash my way out of the ambulance. I hope I didn’t cause too much trouble.

It was nice that Benjamin was there as well; good ol’ Benjamin. I was astonished to see him running. I guess he really cares about me, though he’d never say it – nope, not Benjamin, that silly donkey. He acts like he doesn’t care about anything; that the Revolution doesn’t excite him in the slightest. He’s so cynical. I keep telling him that we must have faith, that we must trust in Napoleon’s plan.

That’s real faith, you know? Benjamin doesn’t get that; he doesn’t understand that there are good days and there are bad, but this is all within Napoleon’s plan. Trust Napoleon, work hard, and in the end we will all get to Sugarcandy Mountain.

Comrade Napoleon is always right.

It’s not that easy, though. Some of the others think that it’s effortless for me, but it’s not. It’s not easy, working hard. But that’s how I help, you know? Do what Napoleon says and put my heart and soul into it, and I help make everyone’s lives better.

I will work harder.

I’m so tired. The ambulance seems to be slowing – we must be near the end, now. I will work harder once I’m better, but right now I think I will just rest for a bit. I think… maybe, this time, I’ve earned it.

(This is pretty much fan fiction – following up Boxer’s last appearance in Animal Farm.)

Posted on April 29, 2016, in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

