The Great Commission

Christians_distribution

Let’s begin with what is probably the number one reason I consider myself to be “not a very Good Christian”.

18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”
Matthew 28:18-20

So this is supposed to be like one of the main directives of the faith, and for various reasons (which I’ll probably expand on in future posts) I’ve found myself unable to really act upon it. At the heart of it, I suppose it is simply that I have too many doubts, or unresolved questions, about things; I’m currently at a stage where I am willing to try to abide by the faith on my own, but when it comes to pushing it to others, especially those who are practising their own faiths already, it becomes so much more difficult.

Can a non-evangelising Christian be a true Christian? Am I just a pretender here? I don’t know, and I suspect others’ opinions on this will vary. Not that it really matters; there is probably only one being’s opinion that matters here, and I have always been very bad in hearing His voice.

Posted on February 22, 2016, in Faith and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

