Picking Up Where We Left Off

So I’m in a new job role now, and while I’m still undecided whether office work is definitely something I prefer over working in schools, I must say that I’m very much happy to have the chance to experience a change of pace and to improve my subject content expertise.

I have been, however, feeling rather listless of late; despite (or maybe because of) the extra time I now have in the evenings. It’s a rather happy problem to have – when leaving my previous role, I’d made a commitment (to myself) to enforce a clearer distinction between work and home hours. I’ve been pretty successful at doing so thus far – except that with this clear boundary, I sometimes find myself not quite knowing what to do with my new-found time!

Leisure reading and video gaming were good for the first month or so, but I suspect the novelty has faded somewhat – I guess I’m seeking a more purposeful use of my time. I’ve been toying with the idea of helping out at neighbourhood meet-the-people sessions, but somehow have never acted on it. Perhaps I will, some day, but this probably reflects a lack of genuine interest on my part? 

I have resolved, however, to attempt to start writing again – if nothing else, it should be helpful in keeping my ‘writing muscle’ (which has atrophied somewhat) alive. I do hope that in the course of doing so, I’ll force myself to think more about stuff and just enjoy myself in the process. Hopefully.

So, this is the first in a regular series of TGIF blog posts from me. If this project works out, anyway!

Posted on September 25, 2015, in Ponderings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

