Re-Kindling that reading habit

It’s been about 2 weeks since I’d received this package so this post is rather outdated now (plus, the Kindle 3 isn’t really a new toy either), but better late than never, right?

Essentially, I’d been playing around with the Amazon Kindle application on my phone (as well as my computer) and found that I really enjoyed the ability to sync my last-read page between devices (so I can, for instance, read to a certain page on my mobile phone and switch seamlessly to another device when I get home). I’d actually been toying with the idea of buying a Kindle for some time before that, so I finally decided to get the device after having purchased two e-books from the Kindle Store.

There are plenty of other reviews, so I’ll jump straight to my feelings on the device – it’s great! I was initially rather unimpressed by the slow refresh rate of the e-ink screen, but after some extensive use I’ll say it does its job (to be read without causing eyestrain) very well indeed! When combined with the Kindle App on my mobile phone (used when I don’t actualy have the Kindle with me), I am now equipped to read pretty much anywhere I go.

The only question for me now is whether I should buy the digital versions of the books I already have in paper format (effectively digitising my personal library) – I certainly won’t mind, but what would I do with the old books if I’m unable to find buyers for them? Can I just donate them to a library somehow?

Posted on October 28, 2010, in Geek. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

