Panasonic GF1

Got my GF1 at last! This is actually my third interchangeable-lens camera – I’d started small with the D40 and then upgraded to a D90, but I’ve decided to abandon the DSLR format and go with µ4/3 instead. I made a small loss from the old camera (S$30), but I think that’s a pretty small price to pay for nearly four months’ worth of DSLR usage (plus the whole learning experience)!

I haven’t really used the new camera all that much yet, though I did manage to get a few shots in the camera shop and the zoo (was bringing some foreign friends around), and even with the default settings, it’s looking pretty good! Probably not as nice as with a DSLR (depth-of-field isn’t really all that shallow even at f/1.7), but it’s definitely a lot more portable!

Posted on October 31, 2009, in Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. what’s the reason for the switch? just portability? heh.
    hope you get some nice pictures

    • yeah just portability. i’m not that big a hobbyist (mostly photographing travel/social events), so portability’s a bigger factor for me – the DSLR ended up just lying home a lot, previously =P

Leave a Reply

