Technology in the classroom

So it was an unexciting week of lectures at NIE, and I was part of a significant proportion of the student population hard at work on their laptops surfing the internet doing educational stuff. Somehow, my mind wandered to a recent Time article I’d read about using Twitter in church (during services). Looking around at the laptop-armed students around me, I wondered if the classroom could perhaps be improved with the use of Twitter during a lesson.

After some googling, it seems that this isn’t exactly a new idea, but it seems that the bulk of Twittering occurs outside of the classroom, plus it seems to have mostly targeted university students thus far. Using it at the secondary level seems a whole lot riskier, and I can understand why – I’ve discarded (for now) the possibility of allowing students to Twitter while a proper class is going on, although with a unit on debates coming up next term, perhaps I can try out a lesson where the Twitter interface instead becomes the primary medium used.

I’ll still need to think this through quite a bit, but I do think that social media has a lot of potential in teaching (both inside and outside of the classroom). I’m currently deliberating whether or not to allow my students to add me on Facebook (and whether that can somehow be utilised for educational purposes), and am currently quite intrigued by the possibilities Google Wave has to offer.

What an exciting (if workful) time for the geek teacher!

Posted on June 7, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

