Yesterday once more

Practicum’s over now, so I figured it’s as good a time as any to share some pictures of the experience.

It’s kinda weird taking the bus to school daily (I gave up on cycling in the last 2 weeks, the sudden heavy downpours are just too daunting). I don’t really go to that bus stop all that often (the buses to town are in the opposite direction), so walking there really reminded me of the old school days. As did waiting for the bus home from school – they’ve shifted the bus stop (and thankfully added a sheltered walkway), but it still has that old familiar feeling.

The school itself is much the same, yet quite a bit different as well. Upon entering the school via the side gate, you’re greeted by a long wooden (table?) which I’m pretty sure wasn’t there before. The bust of Raffles outside the general office is still there, as are the Headmasters’ pictures hanging in the atrium. The canteen is radically different – it’s all enclosed now (less bird crap, yay!) and also hosts the school’s (Popular) bookshop. I can’t even remember what the bookshop was like in my day – I guess there must have been one, and it definitely wasn’t an external vendor, but for some reason I can’t seem to recall anything about it!

Friday is combined recess for all 4 levels (usually it’s split into two sessions) – I’m not too sure why they do this, but it results in a shorter work day so I’m not complaining. There’s usually a performance at the atrium (Arts at the Atrium, they call it) during this recess, and since it was SYF season the various clubs were taking the chance to showcase their competition pieces to the rest of the school. I thought this was a wonderful idea, and I really do wish I had taken other photos/videos other than this one performance, but I guess I was too engrossed in enjoying the (free!) performances.

We had a temperature-taking exercise before we actually went all ‘orange alert‘, and it was pretty surreal watching all the students taking their temperatures in the parade square (which is, incidentally, no longer on the AstroTurf field). I guess it’s happened before (during the SARS period), but the sight of hundreds of students with thermometers in their mouths was really just… weird.

Posted on May 9, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Luckily, the H1N1 is not as serious as the SARS last time. I still remember the time where everyone of the student has to take their own temperature twice per day in our tuition centre. It’s is rather a weird thing to do… But it is a safe precaution for all of us in Singapore :)

Leave a Reply

