Fusing food

It seems that a staggering majority of posts made while in Japan have to do with eating or food. I guess that’s not all too surprising, given that eating’s mainly what I’m doing these days, anyway.

I’m of the opinion that fusion food wasn’t born out of any great leaps of creativity, but instead out of necessity or convenience. Somehow I find it easy to imagine a foreigner out there with a packet of udon that was expiring pretty soon and deciding to eat it with leftover Thai red curry from the previous night’s dinner – possibly because that’s exactly what happened to me earlier today. Happily it resulted in a pretty tasty meal. I’m quite sure that curry udon’s been done before (and is probably rather common in Singapore), but I’ve never had it before and can now confirm that it’s actually quite good.

Last Sunday I followed Ailin up to Oyama (in a neighbouring prefecture) since she was doing her JLPT there, though I didn’t do very much aside from exploring some malls and checking out the eating options. I had myself some takoyaki (perhaps better known among Singaporeans as ‘Tako Pachi’, possibly the first chain to make it popular back home), which they sell in boxes of 6 or 8 – no snack-sized option of 3, which I’m more used to.

There were actually many varieties and I don’t know exactly what it was that I’d ordered, but it had octopus, okonomiyaki sauce, mayonnaise and fish flakes, and that’s good enough for me! Funnily enough (or painfully, as it was at the time), I decided to pop one into my mouth without waiting for it to cool sufficiently – a mistake I’d committed about 7 years ago. Looks like I’m a slow learner, sometimes.

Posted on December 12, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m curious about how do they taste like. But I appreciated very much the chinese food.
    OT: And… about that old thigh hair problem? I don’t think they look so bad.

Leave a Reply

