Unfriendly commuter

Now that reading on the commute has become a habit to me, I find that I’ve become an unfriendly commuter.

Since the (approx) 2h I spend on the train is the only time I really spending reading (I tend not to read otherwise, since I’ve already got about 10h per week dedicated to that), I guard it quite jealously and find myself actually wanting to travel on the trains alone – reading is a somewhat unfriendly behaviour, especially if you’re with one other person and thus possibly the sole source of his/her entertainment.

There are of course exceptions to this rule, and people I genuinely enjoy giving up my reading time for, but generally I’m really happier travelling by myself – does this make me a bad person, somehow?

Posted on October 10, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. sometimes i feel that way too! to the extent that i shake people off just so i can travel alone… haha

  2. Haha I’m not a big talker when I travel as well. I’d much rather sit in silence than chit chat the whole way through. It’s strange, but I just like peace and quiet when I travel, so I don’t think you’re a bad person! 

  3. nope, you’re not the only one. i spend about 30mins walking to the train station everyday and most of the time i prefer to be alone – i try to quickly leave the house when my housemates aren’t looking.. or wait till they’ve left.

Leave a Reply

