Buy and sell

I just sold my camera for S$270. That’s only about 60% of what I’d paid for it, but it’s still money, and far better than the $0 I’d have got by hanging on to something I wasn’t really using.

I’ve actually been reselling my (more expensive) old stuff for quite some time now, I guess I first encountered eBay when buying/selling vintage toys back in my JC days, haha. After awhile I figured that some of my belongings could still fetch a pretty sum when sold off, and I could get some pretty good deals on used items. While I understand the insistence on buying new items sometimes (for example, I generally prefer a new laptop since it’s something I will use very often), I’ve probably saved quite a bit on tech goods (like computer parts) by selling and buying old stuff.

I think the second hand market is really a good way of cutting expenses, actually, as well as cutting waste – reduce, reuse and recycle! It’s a pity many people don’t seem to be aware of the option, or are simply unwilling to expend the extra time/effort.

(Well, it took me weeks to get motivated enough to list my camera for sale, so maybe I’m not one to talk!)

Posted on September 25, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

