A new route

Two nights ago I was talking with some former NTU (NIE is kinda part of NTU, for those who didn’t know) students and mentioned my plan to cycle between Boon Lay MRT and NIE. Joanna mentioned that she remembers quite a few cases of people dying in accidents in the area, and that Jalan Bahar is extremely unsafe somehow, and after re-evaluating fitness/fun over safety, I kinda gave up on the idea.

After reading mrbrown’s Quick Guide to Bicycle Commuting in Singapore, though, I suddenly feel very gian to stick to the original scheme – I guess part of this comes from having cycled for about two years in the UK. I’ve even gone on to research an alternative route – seems like there’s one which avoids Jalan Bahar altogether (and is shorter, too). For greater safety I might use some of the minor roads to a greater degree, too.

I guess I’ll give it a try over the weekend – probably have to borrow a bike from someone, I’ll get one of my own if it seems to be a viable plan!

Posted on July 14, 2008, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

