ANA Lounge @ Narita Airport

I’m typing this from the ANA Lounge right now (well, actually I started the entry there but only finished it back home in Singapore, but it’s cooler if I pretend it was all done there). I know I’ve been rather scornful of lounges before, but this place has made me a convert. Just to clarify – they don’t have a separate lounge here for Star Alliance Gold members, so I got to go into the business class lounge this time – and boy, is it good! I can now understand why people are willing to pay extra for lounge access, especially in foreign countries where they aren’t quite as in charge of their transport options (for example, I got to the airport three hours before my flight, an hour earlier than I’d have liked, due to limited bus schedules).

Perhaps the most welcome facility I noticed was the shower. I wasn’t really expecting it there, or thinking of taking one – but somehow after stumbling upon it, I simply knew I wanted a shower. I’d showered the night before, but somehow it felt really good to wash up after the 3h-long bus ride, before the flight home.

Since I got to the airport about 8:20am, and hadn’t eaten anything earlier (woke up about 4h before that), I was starving when I arrived. Normally I’d have checked out a McDonald’s or something, but this time with free food at the lounge, I helped myself – and the options for food was really quite something! For starters, I got myself a bowl of udon from the hot noodle bar.

There was quite an extensive bread selection as well, so I grabbed myself a green tea and white chocolate bagel. I also tried a melon-flavoured bun later. Japanese bread is unexpectedly delightful – they’ve really adapted from European bakeries pretty well.

There was sushi as well, which was alright (passable but not great). There was a sake bar too, but since it’s still early in the morning I didn’t really try it out. But wow, this place is amazing – I can’t wait till I’m back again! Now I’m really curious abut the Silver Kris lounge back in Singapore. Wonder when I’ll get to see it, if ever?

Posted on July 12, 2008, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

