Faith and Works

James 2 :18-20
Indeed someone might say, “You have faith and I have works.” Demonstrate your faith to me without works, and I will demonstrate my faith to you from my works. You believe that God is one. You do well. Even the demons believe that and tremble. Do you want proof, you ignoramus, that faith without works is useless?

No particular reason for using the NAB translation, except that’s the version I encountered in today’s daily readings. Plus, I found the use of the word ‘ignoramus’ hilarious.

The whole faith vs works issue has always had me quite annoyed, since it used to be a major contention and still is today, somehow. I personally see it as a no-issue because, well, most moderate groups now believe that both faith and works are necessary in a Christian’s life. The only difference seems to be whether works are an essential part of the saving process.

Which seems like a really small thing to nitpick over… If you need both, what does it matter which aspect actually earns you salvation? Does God really care which of these two aspects you mentally rank as being more important? It’s kinda like arguing over whether the chicken or the egg came first, when in the end you still need both to make a good oyakodon.

Posted on May 16, 2008, in Faith. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

